Non-Gandhi Faces Took Over The Chair Of The Congress President SPL

Non-Gandhi Party Presidents: Before the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the...

Non-Gandhi Party Presidents: Before the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress is trying to regain its lost ground. Meanwhile, the election of the party’s president is also approaching. The round of discussions regarding the top post is not over yet. Political excitement has also intensified regarding the new president. Meanwhile, there is news that the current interim president of the party, Sonia Gandhi, is ill and she is going abroad for treatment. While the former national president of the party, Rahul Gandhi has also made it clear that he is not in the mood to return as the party president. The high command has also made it clear that this time someone from outside the Gandhi family should become the president. In such a situation, the party is looking for a new leadership. However, the question also remains whether the new president of the party will be from the Gandhi family or not.

At present, the name of Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot is being taken at the fore in this race. It is believed that the party wants Gehlot to come forward and take over the responsibility of this post, but Ashok Gehlot himself has not said anything on this matter yet. Priyanka Gandhi Vadra’s name is also appearing in this race. There is a possibility that he may be persuaded to take over as the chairman, but he has refused to hold the position on several occasions. Now that the three members of the Gandhi family have refused to become the president, the discussion about the next party president has intensified.

Let us tell you that Rahul Gandhi had led the party’s election campaign after the defeat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and resigned from the post of president, taking responsibility for the defeat. It has been two and a half years since this resignation, but even today the Congress is without a full-time president. There is still no clarity on whether Rahul Gandhi will return as Congress President.

This party has been in the power of the Center for 54 years and has given 7 leaders to the country as Prime Minister. Talking about the post of President, the party has appointed a total of 19 leaders to the post of President since independence. It is said that the Nehru-Gandhi family runs in the Congress, but if you look at the 19 presidents of the party formed after independence, then it is known that there are five people from the Nehru-Gandhi family. However, in the 75 years of independence, for 40 years, some member of this family was occupied in the post of president. After the year 1998, Sonia or Rahul Gandhi has been the president continuously.

How many non-Gandhis have become Congress Party President and what has been their contribution to Congress.

1948-1949: The first president of the Congress party in independent India was Pattabhi Sitaramayya who was a doctor by profession and was elected as the party chief of the Jaipur session. He was arrested in 1930 for breaking the salt law by leading volunteers and making salt on a beach near Masulipatnam in Andhra Pradesh.

1950: Purushottam Das Tandon became the President in the year 1950 and presided over the Nashik session. He is considered for his special contribution in making Hindi, the national language of India, and he was also given the country’s highest civilian award. Purushottam Das Tandon worked for 13 years as the spokesperson of the Legislative Assembly (Uttar Pradesh) after India’s independence. During this, during his long tenure from 1937 to 1950, he addressed the assembly several times.

1960-1963: A prominent leader of Andhra Pradesh, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the President of the INC from 1960-1963. He was the sixth President of India from 1977 to 1982. He left his college studies in 1931 to participate in the Civil Disobedience Movement.

1964-1967: K Kamaraj was the President of INC from 1964 to 1967. He was considered a kingmaker in Indian politics. According to the INC website, he played a leading role in shaping the fate of India from the death of Jawaharlal Nehru to the split of the Congress in 1969. He was given the Bharat Ratna Award.

1968-1969: S Siddhavanalli Nijalingappa was a lawyer by profession who played a leading role in the integration of Karnataka and became the first Chief Minister of the state. He was the President of Congress in the year 1968-69. When the Congress split, it was he who supported the organization’s front against the faction led by Indira Gandhi.

1970-1971: Jagjivan Ram, also called Babuji, was of the view that Dalit leaders should not only fight for social reforms, but also demand political representation. Inspired by Mahatma Gandhi, he joined the Civil Disobedience Movement and Satyagraha. Jagjivan Ram became the President in 1970-71. He was a leader of backward classes, untouchables and exploited laborers. He insisted on the inclusion of social justice in the constitution and was the youngest minister in Nehru’s interim government in 1946.

1972-1974: Shankar Dayal Sharma served as the President of Congress for four years. He was also the President of India from 1992 to 1997 and led the Indian delegation to the UNESCO Conference on Elementary and Secondary Education in Karachi, Pakistan in 1959.

1975-1977: Devkant Barua served as the Congress President during the Emergency from 1975-1977. He is known for his ‘India is Indira, Indira is India’ remark. He was a party loyalist, but later joined the anti-Indira faction after the split of the Congress.

1992-96: PV Narasimha Rao was the President of Congress from 1992 to 1996. PV Narasimha Rao was the ninth Prime Minister of India and inherited an economy that was on the verge of an international default due to the collapse of the Soviet Union. During his tenure as Prime Minister, he oversaw the liberalization of India’s economy.

1996-1998: Sitaram Kesari joined the independence movement in Bihar as a 13-year-old child and eventually became a youth leader in his state. He later served as a Union minister, while Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi and PV Narasimha Rao were in office.

Spin on News

Spin On News Provide Best Content .

Leave Your Comment